Polar Semiconductor Bloomington fab
Bloomington, MN. Wafer fab.
Polar Semiconductor, headquartered in Bloomington, MN
Bloomington fab expansion and modernization
$525M expansion inside the existing Bloomington building to roughly double 200mm output from about 20,000 to nearly 40,000 wafers per month; Polar became a US-owned merchant foundry.
- Investment
- $525M
- Jobs
- not stated
- Announced
- May 2024
- Target
- not stated
- Type
- Wafer fab
- Process or product
- Sensor and power semiconductors (merchant foundry)
- Wafer size
- 200mm
- CHIPS Act funding
- $123M (final award)
Timeline
- Update
Polar said its Minnesota facility was recently expanded with new processing and automation equipment and will make 650V GaN-on-Si devices on 200mm wafers for Renesas.
Business Wire - Funding
Commerce finalized up to $123 million in CHIPS direct funding, the first final commercial fab award.
U.S. Department of Commerce - Ownership change
Polar completed its sale to Niobrara Capital and Prysm Capital with $175 million of equity financing.
Evertiq - Announced
Polar announced a $525 million expansion of its Bloomington facility to double US wafer capacity.
Area Development
Sources (8)
- Semiconductor Fabrication Facilities Funded by the CHIPS Act: Project Status and Considerations for Congress (R49031) Congressional Research Service, Jul 14, 2026
- Polar signs agreement with Renesas to license GaN-on-Si technology and onshore commercial fabrication of advanced devices on 200mm wafers Business Wire, Apr 16, 2025
- Roundup: CHIPS Act funds NSTC, Polar gets final funding Electronics360 (GlobalSpec), Sep 26, 2024
- Polar Semiconductor completes sale to Niobrara and Prysm; CHIPS award Evertiq, Sep 25, 2024
- CHIPS Incentives Award to Polar Semiconductor (announced 2024-09-24) U.S. Department of Commerce, Sep 24, 2024
- Polar Semiconductor CHIPS award release (dated 2024-09-24, page updated 2025-10-06) NIST, Sep 24, 2024
- Polar Semiconductor Expands Bloomington, Minnesota, Manufacturing Operations Area Development, May 16, 2024
- Polar Semiconductor lands CHIPS Act funding Mortenson, May 14, 2024
1 supplier or contractor on record for this project
Names, roles, and the source for each are part of the paid tier we are building. Subscribe below to hear when it opens.
Get told when this site changes
Status alerts, supplier and contractor records, and a spreadsheet export are coming as a paid tier. Subscribe to the Weekly Silicon brief and we will tell you when it opens.
Figures are what the company or an agency announced. "Not stated" means no source gives a number for this site. A status is only as current as its "as of" date.