Absolics Covington glass substrate plant
Covington, GA. Packaging and test.
Absolics, headquartered in Covington, GA
Absolics glass substrate manufacturing facility
Glass-core substrate plant on SKC's Covington campus; Phase 1 built and in customer qualification, with commercial mass production not yet started as of Aug 2026.
- Investment
- $600M
- Jobs
- 200
- Announced
- Oct 2021
- Target
- 2026
- Type
- Packaging and test
- Process or product
- Glass-core substrates for advanced packaging
- Wafer size
- not stated
- CHIPS Act funding
- $75M (final award)
Timeline
- Update
Absolics reported to be in customer qualification, with glass substrate samples under package-level reliability evaluation.
Tom's Hardware - Delay
Commercial output slipped from 2024 to 2025 to tied-to-customer-approval in 2026; SKC said it could no longer specify a mass production date.
The Korea Herald - Funding
Commerce finalized a separate $100 million NAPMP award to Absolics for its SMART Packaging Program.
NIST / U.S. Department of Commerce - Funding
Commerce finalized the up to $75 million CHIPS incentives award.
NIST / U.S. Department of Commerce - Funding
Commerce signed a preliminary memorandum of terms for up to $75 million in CHIPS direct funding.
Manufacturing Dive - Groundbreaking
Absolics broke ground on the Covington plant.
The Korea Herald - Announced
SKC announced an original $473 million plan for a glass substrate plant at its Covington campus.
ESG News
Sources (7)
- Glass substrate roadmaps examined: Absolics in final qualification and a first product that keeps slipping Tom's Hardware, Aug 27, 2026
- Samsung, LG and SK see glass substrates as next upgrade in AI chip packaging, but mass production remains elusive The Korea Herald, Jun 14, 2026
- SKC reportedly channels over half of KRW 1T capital increase into Absolics to fast-track glass substrates TrendForce, Mar 3, 2026
- U.S. Department of Commerce Announces $1.4 Billion in Final Awards to Support the Next Generation of U.S. Semiconductor Advanced Packaging NIST / U.S. Department of Commerce, Jan 16, 2025
- Biden-Harris Administration Announces CHIPS Incentives Awards with Absolics and Entegris NIST / U.S. Department of Commerce, Dec 5, 2024
- Absolics to receive $75M in CHIPS Act funding for Covington, Georgia plant Manufacturing Dive, May 29, 2024
- Absolics breaks ground on planned $600 million manufacturing site in Georgia for breakthrough semiconductor material ESG News
Get told when this site changes
Status alerts, supplier and contractor records, and a spreadsheet export are coming as a paid tier. Subscribe to the Weekly Silicon brief and we will tell you when it opens.
Figures are what the company or an agency announced. "Not stated" means no source gives a number for this site. A status is only as current as its "as of" date.